Education exemption for Members of the Florida Bar
Qualifications for a Real Estate Sales Associate
Mutual Recognition with other states
Qualifications for a Real Estate Broker
Qualifications for a Real Estate School Instructor
Exemptions from education requirements:
Lawyers: Any active member in good standing with the Florida Bar, who is otherwise qualified under the real estate license law, is exempt from the Florida Real Estate Commission ‘s prescribed prerequisite educational course for licensure as a real estate sales associate.
Real Estate Majors: Applicants for both the sales associate and broker license are exempt from the pre-license course requirement if they hold a four-year (or higher) degree in real estate.
An applicant for licensure as a real estate sales associate, real estate broker, or real estate instructor must be at least 18 years old, hold a high school diploma, submit fingerprints and report criminal conviction on the state application (see FAQs on criminal history.)
Qualifications for a Real Estate Sales Associate:
- Successfully complete a Commission-approved pre-licensing course for sales associates (Course I) consisting of 63 hours and covering the topics required by the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC). This can be an online or a classroom-based course.
Licensees with a permanent physical disability as defined by FREC Rule 61J2-3.013(2) may qualify for a correspondence pre-licensing course if unable, due to a permanent physical disability, to attend the site where the course is conducted. Licensees should contact the Education Section of the Division of Real Estate of the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation for additional information.
- Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints,and appropriate fee (may submit this package prior to completing Step 1). When you enroll in one of our pre-license courses, we will send you an application.
- Pass the Florida real estate sales associate examination with a grade of at least 75 out of 100.
Mutual Recognition with other states:
Florida has entered into a mutual recognition agreement with 8 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Mississippi, Nebraska, and Rhode Island. Real estate licensees from these states, as long as they are not residents of Florida, may be eligible to receive a Florida real estate license by successfully passing a 40-question Florida real estate law examination with at least 30 correct answers. The real estate license must be active and have been obtained through education and examination required by the state’s real estate licensing authority.
Submit a completed Form RE-11 to the Division of Real Estate to activate the license; otherwise the license is issued in an inactive status.
Qualifications for a Real Estate Broker:
- Hold an active real estate sales associate license and complete 24 months real estate experience during the 5-year period preceding becoming licensed as a broker OR a licensed real estate sales associate or broker who has real estate experience in another state may apply the experience toward a Florida real estate broker license if the applicant has held an active sales associate or a current and valid broker license for at least 24 months during the preceding 5 years.
If one is claiming experience from a jurisdiction other than Florida, attach to the application a current certification of real estate license history, not more than one-year-old, from the licensing agency of that jurisdiction. The real estate license must have been obtained from the real estate licensing authority by completing its education and examination requirements.
[NOTE: If the applicant holds a Florida real estate sales associate license, he must fulfill the sales associate post-licensing education requirement before being eligible to obtain a broker license. This method does not exempt a sales associate who holds a Florida sales associate license from successfully completing the sales associate post-licensing course.]
- Successfully complete a FREC-approved pre-licensing course for brokers (Course II) consisting of 72 hours and covering the topics required by the FREC. Applicants with permanent physical disabilities as defined by FREC Rule 61J2-3.013(2) may qualify for a correspondence pre-licensing course if they are unable to attend where the course is conducted. Applicants should contact the Education Section of the Division of Real Estate for additional information.
- Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints,and appropriate fee (may submit this package prior to completing Step 2). When you enroll in one of our pre-license courses, we will send you an application.
- Pass the Florida real estate broker examination with a grade of at least 75.
- Submit a completed Form RE-11 to the Division of Real Estate to activate the license; otherwise the license is issued in an inactive status.
Qualifications for a Real Estate School Instructor:
A “school instructor” is an individual who teaches persons in the classroom in noncredit college courses in a college, university, or community college, or courses in an area technical center or proprietary real estate school. Where the course or courses to be taught are prescribed by the Commission precedent to licensure or renewal as a real estate sales associate or broker, the applicant must certify their competency and obtain an instructor permit by meeting one of the following requirements:
- Hold a bachelor’s degree in a business-related subject (such as real estate, finance, accounting, business administration, or its equivalent) and hold a valid broker’s license in this state; OR
- Hold a bachelor’s degree, have extensive real estate experience (as defined by rule) and hold a valid broker’s license in this state; OR
- Pass an instructor examination approved by the Commission.
The continuing education requirement for a real estate instructor is a minimum of 7 classroom hours of instruction in real estate subjects or instructional techniques as prescribed by the Commission (Chapter 61J2-3.011, Florida Administrative Code.
License and Exam Fees:
|Initial application for sales associate||$89|
|Initial application for broker||$97|
|Initial application for school instructor||$89|
|Testing fee paid to Pearson VUE directly for each exam||$36.75|